Giles Scott seals Palma Finn win, four-way fight for other medals

Olympic champion Giles Scott has done enough to win the Finn Class at the 49 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Iberostar with a day to spare after another tricky day on the Bay of Palma left him with a 29-point lead, with just the medal race to sail. The Netherland’s Nicholas Heiner is guaranteed a medal, but will fight for silver with New Zealand’s Andy Maloney, who has an almost safe points lead to take a medal.

Read more ...

Scandinavians win races, but Scott extends after fourth day for Finns in Palma

Though he has yet to win a race, consistency is paying off for Giles Scott as he takes a 37-point lead in the Finn fleet after the fourth day of the 49 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Iberostar in Palma. The Netherlands’ Nicholas Heiner is up to second while previous regatta leader, Nils Theuninck, from Switzerland, moved back up to third. The races wins on Thursday went to Norway’s Anders Pedersen and Sweden’s Max Salminen.

Read more ...

Palma finally delivers as Giles Scott takes control in Finn fleet

Giles Scott, from Britain, took a 20-point lead at the 49 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Iberostar in Palma on Wednesday after two finntastic races in 18-24 knots from the west, with perfect waves and brilliant sunshine. It doesn’t get much better. Finland’s Tapio Nirkko is now up to second on equal points with Italy’s Alessio Spadoni in third. The race wins went to Australia’s Oliver Tweddell and New Zealand’s Andy Maloney.

Read more ...

U23 champ Nils Theuninck leads Finn fleet in Palma after tricky Tuesday

The recently crowned U23 European champion Nils Theuninck, from Switzerland has taken the lead at the 49 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Iberostar in Palma after two more races were sailed in light and tricky winds on Tuesday. He holds a two-point lead over Olympic champion, Giles Scott, from Britain, and another U23 sailor Luke Muller, from the USA. The race wins went to Fabian Pic, of France and Milan Vujasinovic, of Croatia.

Read more ...





© 2017, International Finn Association, Inc