Gerardo Seeliger

President of Honour
IFA President 1981-1997
Nikos Kouklelis

Life Honorary Member

IFA Honorary Secretary 1975-1991
Rickard Sarby

Designer of the Finn

Olympics Bronze 1952
Jörg Bruder

Finn Gold Cup 1970, 1971, 1972
Paul Elvstrøm

Olympics Gold 1952, 1956, 1960
Finn Gold Cup 1958, 1959
Europeans 1960
Gilbert Lamboley

Chairman of the Technical Committee 1970-1980
Willy Kuhweide

Olympics  Gold 1964
Finn Gold Cup 1963, 1966, 1967
Europeans 1961, 1964
Hubert Raudaschl

Olympics Silver 1968
Finn Gold Cup 1964
Europeans 1966
John Bertrand

Olympics  Bronze 1976
Lasse Hjortnæs

Finn Gold Cup 1982, 1984, 1985
Europeans 1981, 1982, 1985
Jose Luis Doreste

Olympics Gold 1988
Finn Gold Cup 1987
Europeans 1988
Fredrik Lööf

Olympics Bronze 2000
Finn Gold Cup 1994, 1997, 1999
José Maria van der Ploeg

Olympics Gold 1992
Europeans 1994, 1995, 1996
August Miller

IFA Vice President 1979-1981
IFA Development Coach
IFA Solidarity Coach 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004
Mateusz Kusznierewicz

Olympics Gold 1996, Bronze 2004
Finn Gold Cup 1998, 2000
Europeans 2000, 2004
Ben Ainslie

Olympics Gold 2004, 2008, 2012
Finn Gold Cup 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2012
Europeans 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008

Richart Hart

Richard Hart was the Chairman of the Technical Committee from 1989 to 2015, making him the longest serving official in the history of the class. He has been involved in the class since 1961 as a sailor and official, with his best result being a third place in the 1965 Finn Gold Cup in Poland. In 1989 he was asked to be Chairman of the Technical Committee and oversaw the modernisation of the class over the next three decades. As a sailor he competed in many Olympic trials during this time and won several British Nationals. After a break, he returned to competitive  Finn sailing in 1989 and is still regularly sailing his Finn. In 2010 and 2014 he won
the Legend category at the Finn World Masters.



Jüri Saraskin

Jüri Saraskin started sailing in 1952, and since 1962 his life was intricately connected to the Finn class, initially as a sailor and after 1967 as a measurer. He was twice Finn Champion of Estonia, in 1968 and 1970, and was the Chief Measurer of the Finn class from 1992 up to his death in 2018. His scientific background and experience enabled him to develop and refine a lot of tools and methods for full and accurate measurement of dinghies. He was instrumental in ensuring that modern Finns are measured accurately and consistently so that all boats are as alike as possible.



© 2024, International Finn Association, Inc