Finn Silver Cup


Junior World Championship

[click on year for individual reports and results, where these exist - work in progress]


Year Venue Gold Silver Bronze


Melbourne, Australia Charlie Cumbley, GBR George Kontogouris, GRE Clifton Webb, NZL
2000 Weymouth, England George Kontongouris, GRE Charlie Cumbley, GBR Kristian Aderman, SWE
2001 Marblehead, USA Chris Brittle, GBR Charlie Cumbley, GBR Stefan de Vries, NED
2002 Athens, Greece Chris Brittle, GBR Marin Misura, CRO Gasper Vincec, CRO
2003 Cadiz, Spain Marin Misura, CRO Edward Greig, GBR Tapio Nirkko, FIN
2004 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Tapio Nirkko, FIN Henry Raul Boening, BRA -
2005 Moscow, Russia Ivan Klakovic Gaspic, CRO Tapio Nirkko, FIN Nobert Wilandt, POL
2006 Split, Croatia Mark Andrews, GBR Henry Bagnall, GBR Piotr Kula, POL
2007 Moscow, Russia Jan Kurfeld, GER Piotr Kula, POL Sergey Komissarov, RUS
2008 Melbourne, Australia Giles Scott, GBR Piotr Kula, POL Frederico Melo, POR
2009 Balatonfured, Hungary Jorge Zarif, BRA Egor Larinov, RUS Andriy Gusenko, UKR
2010 San Francisco, USA Luke Lawrence, USA Ioannis Mitakis, GRE Oliver Tweddell, AUS
2011 Moscow, Russia Arkadiy Kistanov, RUS Milosz Wojewski, POL Artur Ponieczynski, POL
2012 Maubuisson, France Martin Robitaille, CAN Michal Jodlowski, POL Arkadiy Kistanov, RUS
2013 Malcesine, Itay Jorge Zarif, BRA Jake Lilley, AUS Martin Robitaille, CAN
2014 Hoorn, Netherlands Anders Pedersen, NOR Ardkadiy Kistanov, RUS Nenad Bugarin, CRO
2015 Valencia, Spain Ondrej Teply, CZE Nenad Bugarin, CRO, Lars Johan Brodtkorb, NOR
2016 Kalovig, Denmark Phillip Kasüeske, GER Ondrej Teply, CZE Facundo Olezza, ARG
2017 Batatonfured, Hungary Oskari Muhonen, FIN Facundo Olezza, ARG Fionn Lyden, IRL
2018 Koper, Slovenia Ondrej Teply, CZE Joan Cardona, ESP Hector Simpson GBR


















The first Junior Finn World Championship was held in Melbourne in 1999 following the demand from the growing number of junior sailors in the class for their own world championship.

Intitally this was combined with the senior Gold Cup and the results extracted. In 2007, the Junior Worlds was sailed as an independent event for the first time using the Finns of the Moscow Sailing School and was a great success. Since 2009, it has been held as an independent championship, attracting large numbers from across the world.

In 2003, on the occasion of the senior Finn Gold Cup in Rio, The Brazilian Olympic Committee presented the IFA with the 'Jorg Bruder Silver Cup', a perpetual trophy as a memorial to the late great Finn sailor from Brazil. Since then the event has been known as the Silver Cup.

The only sailors to win the cup twice are Chris Brittle from Great Britain in 2001 and 2002, and Jorge Zarif from Brazil in 2009 and 2013. The largest number of entries was in 2009, where 51 boats competed.

In 2016 the Junior World Championship was rebranded as the U23 Finn World Championship.





© 2020, International Finn Association, Inc